Posted by barbara on August 14, 2011
Cars are banished from the new look Lawson Menzies House Cumberland Street frontage
Pedestrians walking between Sydney Harbour Bridge and train and bus interchange hubs have been among the first to experience the newly landscaped streetscape of the southern end of Cumberland Street, The Rocks.
This is because the wraps have finally come off 212-218 Cumberland Street, the State heritage listed Lawsons-Menzies building, putting to an end the dog leg route down and up from York Street down to Gloucester Street and back up to Cumberland Street.
The original building's charcoal and burnt sienna colour scheme are carried through to the adjacent outdoor areas
Constructed in 1924, the building started life as a warehouse for Cadbury Fry-Pascall confectionary makers before Lawsons, one of Sydney's most prominent auctioneers, occupied the premises in 1982.
This heritage sign alerts casual passersby to the Lawsons auctioneer's phase of the building
The adaptive reuse retains the heritage structure and 'fabric' of the building, as in its look and feel. On the inside it has been converted it into retail and commercial spaces, with the 'addition of two floors of residential apartments at rooftop level,' according to its DA.
The dark charcoal and jaffa colours of the pergolas compliment the heritage precinct
Last updated 4 April 2017.